Saturday, October 6, 2012

love languages

Truth: I am shy. 
My close friends know that I like to ask deep questions to get conversations rolling. Sometimes the only things rolling may be their eyes, but I love it.
I ask the questions to get know you. On a deeper level. 
The questions are positive and then often feed in to other topics. 
It's the best way that I know how to get conversation rolling. 
I want to know more than your day to day happenings.
I want to know what makes you happy. I want to know your routines.
I want to know your heart. Your soul.
Just to know you. That's all.
One thing I like to ask a new crowd is 
"What is your love language?"
No, I have not read the book, but I get the gist.
There are 5: touch, gifts, acts of service, words of affirmation, and quality time.
You also give the love language that you wish to receive.
I am words of affirmation and acts of service.
If you ask Big Edward, he will say "those all sound great."
Ha, but he is words of affirmation and touch.
All three of my boys are touch :)
Little Edward is words of affirmation and touch.
He will snuggle to the days end.
His face lights up when receiving and giving compliments. It's really adorable.
He will say "mommy, you're the prettiest girl I've ever seen. I love you" pretty much all day.
Andrew is quality time and touch.
He loves to kiss and hug. He hates to be rocked but wants to be in your lap facing forward to see the action. He will stop mid-play just to open-mouth kiss you.
He is happiest when we are all being "present."
Unfortunately for Edward, "humor" is not one of them :)

What's your love language?


Suzy said...

I think mine would be words of affirmation. Part of the reason I love teaching- I get to do that all day!

Olivia said...

I love you ML and I love this blog. I miss you so and I love keeping up with you through your writing.

Wynne Elder said...

This is so true & I love that about you. I love that you really do want to know people! Mine are words of affirmation & quality time ;)